SIGGRAPH 2016 Significant New Researcher Award: Wojtan

  • ©2016, Chris Wojtan



    Significant New Researcher Award


    ACM SIGGRAPH is delighted to present the 2016 Significant New Researcher Award to Chris Wojtan in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the field of computer animation, and particularly in the area of physically-based fluid animation.

    Chris has made numerous contributions to the area of physically based animation. The defining character of much of his research is the invention of carefully chosen numerical methods to improve the visual realism of a given physical phenomenon. Chris has created fundamental new techniques for preserving fine details on surfaces of fluids and deformable materials. This line of work starting with his 2008 paper “Fast Viscoelastic Behavior with Thin Features” was enhanced to handle changing topology of the surfaces of Eulerian simulations with his 2009 paper “Deforming Meshes that Split and Merge”, and extended to better handle fluid surfaces in his 2010 paper “Physics-Inspired Topology Changes for Thin Fluid Features”. His work on surface tension with his collaborator Nils Thürey resulted in the beautiful crown splash image on the cover of the 2010 SIGGRAPH proceedings. He had also investigated several ways in which to speed up fluid solvers, including “Highly Adaptive Liquid Simulations on Tetrahedral Meshes” and “A Dimension-Reduced Pressure Solver for Liquid Simulations”. He has done work on brittle fracture, soap films, and control of particle systems.

    Chris has also worked in the area of mesh processing, including “Putting Holes in Holey Geometry: Topology Changes for Arbitrary Surfaces,” and “A General Framework for Bilateral and Mean Shift Filtering.”

    Chris Wojtan began his faculty career when he joined the Institute of Science and Technology Austria in 2011. Prior to this, he was a graduate student at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he received his PhD in 2010. Chris received the Georgia Tech Sigma Xi Best Dissertation Award in 2011, and he was given the Eurographics Young Researcher Award in 2015.


    ACM SIGGRAPH Citation